Handy Kitchen Tools

Well today’s blog post got hijacked by a bad batch of cookies….they weren’t horrible, but I decided that if they weren’t the most amazing cookies in the universe then what is the point of putting the recipe up for everyone to try.

Let me explain. I have been craving…I mean CRAVING some chocolate for the last two days.  I kept putting off making these cookies because I really don’t NEED the cookies.  My hubby always says to me, “But do you want the cookies?….You might not need them, but do you WANT them?”  So, I finally decided I WANTED them.

I have an insane sweet tooth.   So I have to be very careful with keeping anything sweet around the house.  My dearest hubby is not a huge sweet fan and he also is not a snacker….my two biggest downfalls…chips and sweets.  I don’t keep them in the house because well…I would eat everything.

But, the problem with this is I love to bake.  I love to try and make different desserts.  Hence the paradox.

So, to continue the story….I made some Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip cookies today.  They just weren’t as amazing as I wanted them to be.  Oh well at least the cookies gave me the great idea for this new post.

I have decided to make this concept another feature on my blog…what you ask?  Handy kitchen tools!

Now anyone that knows me knows that I am obsessed with kitchen tools, gadgets, electrics, etc.  If it is something that has to do with the kitchen I want it or I want to try it.  I have recently backed off this a bit and have been more obsessed with redecorating my house (because of the extension of my time out here), but I have a constant running list of things I want from different kitchen stores.  Yes, I am a super list maker….I believe I actually have lists of lists and usually have a couple running calendars.  Sigh…this of course is a blessing and a curse.

OK, back to tools.  I decided that some people might not be as obsessed with kitchen tools as I am and decided that with all the ones I have I could help pick the most helpful tools in the kitchen.  Or the must have kitchen tools for every chef.

My First Cool Tool:  Pampered Chef Measure-All Cup

This thing is so great!!

The red side helps measure solid or sticky ingredients for recipes.  You can use this side for cups, tablespoons, teaspoons, or milliliters.

I used this for the peanut butter (this is also great for Crisco…does anyone outside of the South even cook with Crisco anymore?).  Anyone who has ever cooked knows that if you put peanut butter in a regular measuring cup it is extremely difficult to get out….without a spatula and/or a spoon….and then you don’t even get all of it out.

With this tool you scoop the sticky ingredients into the top of the red side.  You slide it down to how much you need for your recipe and then gently push up on it.

It pops out cleanly and neatly.

Then you can turn it over to the blue side.  The blue side measures cups, fluid ounces, tablespoons, teaspoons, and milliliters.

There is a handy dandy little pour spout on the liquid side so the liquid doesn’t go everywhere.

This is very helpful for people who only want one kitchen gadget in the kitchen….or only want to clean one kitchen gadget while cooking.

Hopefully this was helpful! Check back for more tidbits and tips on tools.

Signing off to go work off the cookies!!

This entry was posted in Handy Kitchen Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

